Boulder School 2013: Disorder and Dynamics in Quantum Systems

July 8- August 2, 2013

The compressibility of fractional quantum Hall states and localized states in graphene, Amir Yacoby (Harvard)

Scientific Coordinators

Victor Gurarie, Boulder
Julia Meyer, Grenoble
Gil Refael, Caltech
Amir Yacoby, Harvard
Leo Radzihovsky, Boulder

Dynamics of spinor condensates, Dan Stamper-Kurn (Berkeley)  Anderson localization, Alain Aspect's group (Institut d'Optique)

The 2013 Boulder school will concentrate on two aspects of many-body quantum physics: disorder and dynamics. Disorder effects, e.g., in magnets, quantum wells, and superconductors, have been shown time and again to give rise to entirely new universal phenomena. Our understanding of disorder in quantum systems has evolved dramatically over the last fifty years, but many aspects of disordered quantum systems are still ill-understood, making them an exciting current research topic. Similarly, we often concentrate on ground-state and equilibrium properties of many-body quantum systems. Current experiments, however, in both cold atoms and solid state systems are able to probe systems far from equilibrium. These experiments challenge our understanding of many-body quantum mechanics. The school will aim to introduce the students to the known paradigms of disorder and dynamical quantum phenomena, to the theoretical methods currently available, and to the exciting recent experimental observations and discoveries.

Group Photo

Public Lectures

Public Lecture 1: July 9, 2013 at 7pm in Duane Physics Building, Rm. G1B30
2013 Boulder School Public Lecture, July 9, 2013 at 7pm in Duane Physics Bldg., Rm. G1B30, Thierry Giamarchi, University of Geneva, Switzerland, "When Magic Meets Quantum Physics"

Expected lecturers and seminar speakers

  • Alex Altland (Cologne)
  • Anton Andreev (Seattle)
  • John Chalker (Oxford)
  • Eric Cornell (CU Boulder and JILA)
  • Dominique Delande (ENS, Paris)
  • Thierry Giamarchi (Geneva)
  • Leonid Glazman (Yale)
  • David Huse (Princeton)
  • Alex Kamenev (Minnesota)
  • Corinna Kollath (Geneva)
  • Alexander Mirlin (Karlsruhe)
  • Anatoli Polkovnikov (Boston University)
  • Mikhail Raikh (Utah)
  • Dan Stamper-Kurn (Berkeley)
  • Thomas Vojta (Missouri)