Boulder School 2021: Ultracold Matter

July 5-30, 2021

Scientific Coordinators

Kaden Hazzard (Rice)
Leo Radzihovsky (CU Boulder)
Ana Maria Rey (JILA/Boulder/NIST)
Ian Spielman (Maryland/NIST)

Director: Leo Radzihovsky (CU Boulder)

Experimental breakthroughs in trapping, cooling and manipulating degenerate atomic, ionic and molecular gases have enabled studies of strongly interacting, highly coherent, nonequilbrium quantum matter in previously unexplored regimes and phases. These explorations have synergized AMO, condensed matter, computational and quantum information sciences. The 2020 Boulder Summer School will pedagogically cover these frontier developments, including (1) Strongly interacting Feshbach resonant Bose and Fermi gases, and the associated BEC-BCS crossover and phase transitions, (2) Phenomena in optical lattices and low-dimensional systems, and realization of lattice models, (3) Synthetic dimensions, gauge fields, and spin-orbit coupling, (4) Long-ranged interactions in dipolar atoms, molecules, trapped ions and Rydberg states as a route to novel states of quantum matter, (5) Nonequilibrium dynamics, entanglement growth, thermalization, and its absence in many-body localized systems.

Electronic application for the 2021 school is closed. 

Deadline: No applications accepted this year. All students are strongly urged to plan on staying for the duration of the School. Partial attendance is strongly discouraged. Small exceptions can be made is special cases but must be cleared with the organizers right away; a simple email request, explaining the situation is sufficient. Attendance for less than 3 weeks is not permitted as the spot can be more efficiently utilized by another student attending the entire school (contact organizers). There will be no travel support for shorter attendance.

Public Lecture

Prof. Wolfgang Ketterle (MIT), “New Forms of Matter Near Absolute Zero Temperature” via zoom on Tuesday, July 6, 2021 at 7:00pm MST. Click here for YouTube video.

Lecturers and seminar speakers

Monika Aidelsburger (Munich)
Ehud Altman (Berkeley)
Ana Asenjo-Garcia (Columbia)
Waseem Bakr (Princeton)
Immanuel Bloch (Munich)
John Bollinger (NIST)
Antoine Browaeys (Orsay)
Nigel Cooper (Cambridge)
Eric Cornell (Boulder)
Sebastian Diehl (Cologne)
Tilman Esslinger (ETH)
Thierry Giamarchi (Geneva)
Alexey Gorshkov (Maryland)
Kaden Hazzard (Rice)
Randy Hulet (Rice)
David Huse (Princeton)
Adam Kaufman (Boulder)
Konrad Lehnert (Boulder)
Chris Monroe (Maryland)
Kang-Kuen Ni (Harvard)
Meera Parish (Monash)
Leo Radzihovsky (Boulder)
Ana Maria Rey (Boulder)
Ian Spielman (Maryland/NIST)
James Thompson (Boulder)
Jun Ye (Boulder)