Boulder School for Condensed Matter and Materials Physics Frontiers of Magnetism

June 30 - July 25, 2003

List of Lecturers and Topics:

Daniel Arovas Michael Coey Daniel Cox Anupam Garg Olle Heinonen Frances Hellman Claire Lhuillier Allan MacDonald Brian Maple Andrew Millis Stuart Parkin Daniel Ralph Subir Sachdev Richard Scalettar B. Sriram Shastry Nicola Spaldin **Harry Suhl** Yuri Suzuki W. Wernsdorfer

Ouantum mechanic's toolbox Oxide & semiconductor magnetism Quantum impurity problems Spin semiclassics Computational applied magnetics Experimental magnetism Frustrated magnets Semiconductor spintronics Magnetic impurities in metals Magnetic oxides **Spintronics** Nanomagnets Quantum criticality Computational quantum magnetism Microscopic basis of magnetism Electronic structure methods Modern micromagnetism Fabricated magnetic structures Molecular magnets

The scientific coordinators of the 2003 school are Daniel Arovas (UC San Diego), Anupam Garg (Northwestern) and Nicola Spaldin (UC Santa Barbara).

The school will pay for most local expenses, and there are travel grants available for participants from U.S. universities. Students and postdocs interested in participating should submit an electronic application by the March 1 deadline. The application form, and detailed information regarding housing, travel and financial support are available at

The Boulder school in Condensed Matter and Materials Physics provides expert training, not usually available within the traditional system of graduate and postgraduate education, for advanced graduate students and postdoctoral researchers working in condensed matter physics, materials science and related fields. The School is supported by the National Science Foundation, with additional funding provided by the University of Colorado and NIST, and meets annually during July in Boulder, Colorado.

http://research.yale.edu/boulder